Skip to Content.
Sympa Menu - Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration

Subject: SIP in higher education

List archive

Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration

Chronological Thread 
  • From: Candace Holman <>
  • To: , ,
  • Subject: Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration
  • Date: Tue, 13 Jun 2006 11:38:59 -0400

Please forward to interested parties:

Which open-source projects are the most useful or exciting to you right now? Which institutions (including your own) do you see as taking
leadership roles in collaborating to produce high-quality software for
higher education? If you could honor some of those institutions for
their contributions, which ones would you select?

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation invites you to participate as a nominator in an awards process that will recognize institutions that
have made leadership contributions to the collaborative development of
open source software of benefit to our traditional constituencies,
including higher education, libraries, museums and arts organizations,
and nature conservation. The Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration (MATC) will bestow prizes of $25,000 and $100,000 on several
institutions judged to have made important contributions to significant
projects. Your nomination(s) will be reviewed by a prestigious Award
Committee: Mitchell Baker, Tim Berners-Lee, John Seely Brown, Vint Cerf, John Gage, and Tim O'Reilly, as well as Ira Fuchs and Don Waters of the Mellon Foundation.

Our two hopes are (1) to highlight large-project success stories as away to encourage institutions considering commitments to collaborative
development projects, and (2) to distinguish exceptional smaller
projects that could benefit from greater awareness among both potential users and potential contributors.

The nomination process is simple: you tell us the institution, the project, and (optionally) offer a testimonial as to why the institution's contribution to the project is particularly significant. You may self-nominate, and may nominate as many institutions/projects as you like. The deadline for nominations is Friday, 4 August. The full Call for Nominations and an online nomination form may be found at

  • Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration, Candace Holman, 06/13/2006

Archive powered by MHonArc 2.6.16.

Top of Page